Skip to Content


« Previous Page  Page 2 of 4  Next Page »
May 22, 2018

Mark Johnson selected for Outstanding Research Career Achievement Award

Mark Johnson, Philip H. Knight Professor of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is one of seven University of Oregon faculty members selected for a 2018 Outstanding Research Career Achievement Award by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation.

Read the AroundtheO story.

April 18, 2018

UO Philosophy students receive OHC Graduate Research Support Fellowships

Doctoral student Devin Fitzpatrick (soon to be ABD) and doctoral candidate Joshua Kerr are two of three UO graduate students to receive OHC Graduate Research Support Fellowships for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The purpose of the Oregon Humanities Center Graduate Research Support Fellowship program is to stimulate humanities research and to support graduate education by providing doctoral students with resources to assist with their doctoral research and the completion of their dissertations.

Devin’s dissertation title is “Ethics for the Depressed: On Experiences and Enhancement of Value.”

Joshua’s dissertation title is “The Hybris of Plants: Reinterpreting Philosophy through Vegetal Life.”

Congratulations Devin and Joshua!

April 17, 2018

Colin Koopman receives Faculty Research Award

Colin Koopman, Associate Professor of Philosophy & Ethics and Director of the New Media & Culture Certificate Program, is a Faculty Research Award recipient for 2018 for his project “How We Became Our Data: A Genealogy of the Informational Person.”

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation awarded 20 researchers and scholars in ethnic studies, philosophy, creative writing, physics, psychology, special education and clinical sciences and other fields.

Read the AroundtheO story.

April 12, 2018

Heidegger’s Poietic Writings: From Contributions to Philosophy to the Event — New Book from Daniela Vallega-Neu

Daniela Vallega-Neu, Head of Philosophy and Associate Professor of Philosophy, published her new book Heidegger’s Poietic Writings: From Contributions to Philosophy to the Event with Indiana University Press (ISBN: 978-0-253-03388-8).

Engaging the development of Heidegger’s non-public writings on the event between 1936 and 1941, Daniela Vallega-Neu reveals what Heidegger’s private writings kept hidden. Vallega-Neu takes readers on a journey through these volumes, which are not philosophical works in the traditional sense as they read more like fragments, collections of notes, reflections, and expositions. In them, Vallega-Neu sees Heidegger searching for a language that does not simply speak about being, but rather allows a sense of being to emerge in his thinking and saying. She focuses on striking shifts in the tone and movement of Heidegger’s thinking during these important years. Skillfully navigating the unorthodox and intimate character of these writings, Vallega-Neu provides critical insights into questions of attunement, language, the body, and historicity in Heidegger’s thinking.

For more information, visit Indiana University Press:

March 19, 2018

Martina Ferrari receives CAS Dissertation Research Fellowship

UO Philosophy Doctoral Candidate Martina Ferrari has been awarded a 2018-19 College of Arts and Sciences Dissertation Research Fellowship, which will provide a year of support free from teaching and for working on her dissertation Decolonizing Silence: Merleau-Ponty and Anzaldúa on Onto-Poietic Insurgency, Cross-Cultural Communication, and Political Insubordination.

Congratulations, Martina!

March 16, 2018

Joshua Kerr receives Gary E. Smith Summer Professional Development Award

Joshua Kerr, doctoral candidate in Philosophy, is a recipient of the 2018 Gary E. Smith Summer Professional Development Award. This award provides support to outstanding master’s or doctoral students pursuing academic, professional development, or training enrichment opportunities during the summer.

Congratulations, Joshua!

March 8, 2018

The Synthetic Age — New Book from Christopher Preston

Dr. Christopher Preston, UO PhD in Philosophy (Fall 1998) and Professor of Philosophy at the University of Montana, has written his third book, The Synthetic Age: Outdesigning Evolution, Resurrecting Species, and Reengineering Our World. This book is due to be released by MIT Press on March 30.

Publicist’s Statement:
“In The Synthetic Age, Christopher delves into the implications of the new epoch of the Anthropocene. Rather than focusing on how human impacts have brought us to this point, he turns, instead, towards the future, and considers a world in which engineers and technicians have taken over control of some of Nature’s most basic operations. He works his way from the very small to the very large, from nanotechnology to climate engineering, covering everything from nanoscale robots to designer genomes to synthetically produced climates. Not only does he describe our newfound abilities to take control of nature, and the speed at which they’re advancing, he also considers the ethical ramifications of this shift into a new, synthetic age.”

For more information, visit the publisher’s website:

March 2, 2018

Livestock: Food, Fiber, and Friends — New Book from Erin McKenna

Erin McKenna’s new book Livestock: Food, Fiber, and Friends has been published by the University of Georgia Press.

Description from the publisher’s website:

“Most livestock in the United States currently live in cramped and unhealthy confinement, have few stable social relationships with humans or others of their species, and finish their lives by being transported and killed under stressful conditions. In Livestock, Erin McKenna allows us to see this situation and presents alternatives. She interweaves stories from visits to farms, interviews with producers and activists, and other rich material about the current condition of livestock. In addition, she mixes her account with pragmatist and ecofeminist theorizing about animals, drawing in particular on John Dewey’s account of evolutionary history, and provides substantial historical background about individual species and about human-animal relations.

This deeply informative text reveals that the animals we commonly see as livestock have rich evolutionary histories, species-specific behaviors, breed tendencies, and individual variation, just as those we respect in companion animals such as dogs, cats, and horses. To restore a similar level of respect for livestock, McKenna examines ways we can balance the needs of our livestock animals with the environmental and social impacts of raising them, and she investigates new possibilities for humans to be in relationships with other animals. This book thus offers us a picture of healthier, more respectful relationships with livestock.”

For more information, visit the University of Georgia Press:

February 6, 2018

Philosophy in the News

Colin Koopman, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Director of New Media and Culture Certificate Program, spoke with the New York Times for a recent article “Is President Trump a Stealth Postmodernist or Just a Liar?”

You can read the article here:

December 6, 2017

Professor Vallega awarded 2018-19 Robert F. & Evelyn Nelson Wulf Humanities Professorship

Philosophy Professor Alejandro A. Vallega was awarded the 2018-19 Robert F. and Evelyn Nelson Wulf Professorship in the Humanities. Professor Vallega will be developing a new undergraduate course titled Phil 242 World Philosophies: A pluriversal introduction. The course will be taught Winter 2019. He will also sponsor three lectures on World Philosophies and the Humanities during 2018-2019.

« Previous Page  Page 2 of 4  Next Page »

Skip to toolbar